Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Default How to Link to Popup Window

I'm fairly new to WebDesigner 6 and so far I like it. One piece of functionality I need help with is how to create a button link that allows for viewing the linked web page in a popup window. I've read as many previous posts as I could find, but I can't seem to make it work.

I created a placeholder with the following JavaScript code to create the window:

<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript">
    function popUp(URL) {
    day = new Date();
    id = day.getTime();
    eval("page" + id + " = window.open(URL, '" + id + "', 'toolbar=0,scrollbars=1,location=0,statusbar=0,men ubar=0,resizable=1,,width=540,height=540,left = 242,top = 114');");
    }
    </script>

Then, in the button's Web Properties dialog, I entered the following to the Link to Web or Email address field:

javascript:PopUp('http://content.newbenefits.com/Feed.aspx?hash=z9fYoTE0Wg2cNJf3WaEKEw')

It throws an error and in the address bar of my browser, the following appears:

javascript:PopUp(%27http://content.newbenefits.com/Feed.aspx?hash=z9fYoTE0Wg2cNJf3WaEKEw%27)

...which is obviously not the result I am after.

I'm sure this is a simple matter of not knowing what to enter in the Link to Web field so it parses the code correctly. Can someone help me on this?

Thank you,

SPF

A little french village east of Dallas, TX called Forney And now Austria and Germany too

Default Re: How to Link to Popup Window

Hi SPF,

Try this link out. There is a mini tutorial for how to create an iframe in Xara.

http://www.xaraxone.com/webxealot/wo...workbook_3.htm

That should get you started.

Eric
    I'm never wrong. I thought I was wrong once but it turns out that I was mistaken.
    Web Templates. My Beginner Video Tutorials
    My Club. My Album.
    My Other Album. My Tutorial.

A little french village east of Dallas, TX called Forney And now Austria and Germany too