Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Park City, Utah
    Posts
    318

    Default Refresh page message

    I have several large page websites that turn into a complete mess when I update a few images. I understand that this is due to the random naming of images xara exports.

    These pages get updated and visited often and visitors complain they can't make sense of the site sometimes. I probably should have created this with another software.

    My question is: Is there something I could add to the page that prompt the visitor to refresh the page if it does not look right?
    Ideally this message would stay on for a few seconds and then vanish. Any suggestions to make this sleek would be appreciated.

    Until xara is able to name images I think this would work for me. Creating placeholder for 100s of tiny pngs and jpgs will be too much work.

    Thanks i advance.

    Tom

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    21,934

    Default Re: Refresh page message

    A quick look around the internet would suggest that you force the site to be uploaded from the server each time rather than the local cache. Try adding this to your head section (via a head place holder of course):

    Code:
    <META HTTP-EQUIV="Pragma" CONTENT="no-cache">
    <META HTTP-EQUIV="Cache-Control" CONTENT="no-cache">
    <META HTTP-EQUIV="Pragma-directive" CONTENT="no-cache">
    <META HTTP-EQUIV="Cache-Directive" CONTENT="no-cache">
    <META HTTP-EQUIV="Expires" CONTENT="0">
    Egg

    Minis Forum UM780XTX AMD Ryzen7 7840HS with AMD Radeon 780M Graphics + 32 GB Ram + MSI Optix Mag321 Curv monitor
    + 1Tb SSD + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive + ISP = BT + Web Hosting = TSO Host

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Richmond, MI USA
    Posts
    1,221

    Default Re: Refresh page message

    Egg,
    I've used this no cache script successfully, but when I look at the source code in the browser, it's placed in the <head> area multiple times. One one page it's listed 11 times, some pages 5 times, others 2 times. Any ideas why this is happening?
    Here's a link to a temp page with it listed 11 times: http://www.michiganimaging.com/mychoice/residential.htm

    Jim

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Richmond, MI USA
    Posts
    1,221

    Default Re: Refresh page message

    Egg,
    I also use a script to force a scroll bar:

    <style type="text/css">
    html { min-height: 101%; } </style>

    If I remove this it removes the multiple instances of the no cache. Any suggestions?

    Jim

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Harwich, Essex, England
    Posts
    21,934

    Default Re: Refresh page message

    All code for the head section should be in the one placeholder. For example you mustn't have 2 head placeholders on the same page. Check this first and get back.
    Egg

    Minis Forum UM780XTX AMD Ryzen7 7840HS with AMD Radeon 780M Graphics + 32 GB Ram + MSI Optix Mag321 Curv monitor
    + 1Tb SSD + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive + ISP = BT + Web Hosting = TSO Host

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Richmond, MI USA
    Posts
    1,221

    Default Re: Refresh page message

    egg,
    I thought of that, I had tried it but it didn't seem to make any difference. I just now tried it again changing the order in case that made a difference, and it worked. Don't know if I just didn't do it correctly before or what, but it works. I like the no cache script for testing but don't think I would use it in the final project as it might slow down loading. I have a client that I'm showing pages in progress, and he keeps mentioning files out of place, or rollovers that don't match. I tell him again "F5" and it reloads and now he sees it correctly. Using this script stopped that. Thanks.

    Jim

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •