Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Thread: Hello

Default Hello

Hello everyone, first of all I'd like to introduce myself.

I am Evan, or ecliptiC, and I am new to graphic art, but I am also a musician, gamer, and hopefully soon to be programmer.

I have been using Adobe Photoshop for a few months and I've gotten the hang of it.

Something that frustrates me extremely is making pictures from scratch. I don't think Photoshop is the right program to do it in, and I need a good one, one that I can make logos of basically any type in, using custom words (without having to use fonts and such)

But yeah, I'd like to learn how to make symbols and logos for bands, branches of metal specifically.
    IP

Default Re: Hello

Welcome to TG forms Evan,

I need a good one, one that I can make logos of basically any type in, using custom words (without having to use fonts and such)
    What can I say?

Xara Xtreme, might be right up your street!!
    IP

Just as Sledger said, Xara Xtreme seems to be exactly what you need.
    Fully-functional trial downloadable at the link in Sledger's post above,
    Cheap when you decide to buy it, very easy to learn, fast to use.
    Not clunky to use like CorelDraw, and a lot less complicated than Adobe Illustrator than any of the other competition.
    There are plenty of tutorials to get you started at Gary Priester's Xara Xone, too.
    Saludos,
    Bob.
    Last edited by iamtheblues; 15 July 2009 at 11:30 AM.
    ** Detailed "Create A Spinning Logo Tutorial" is available in .pdf format for download at this link **
    Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog, it's too dark to read. Groucho Marx.
    IP

I repeat [ because my original post appears to have disappeared ]- there is always the free program inkscape, which has a lot of features in common with xtreme, and some, eg calligraphy pen, that you may find useful which xtreme does not have.

www.inkscape.org