Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Arrows on Path

Default Arrows on Path

Hi. I was wondering how I could have multiple arrowheads with equidistant spacing along a path. Basically I have a semicircle, and I want arrowheads to follow along the semicircle. How can I accomplish this? I'm a total noob, so the more basic the explanation the more likely I will understand it .

Thanks!
    IP

Default Re: Arrows on Path

Hi, and welcome to the forum. The secret is the blend tool. See attachment.
    Saludos,
    Bob.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	arrowheads tutorial.png 
Views:	244 
Size:	67.7 KB 
ID:	63177  
    ** Detailed "Create A Spinning Logo Tutorial" is available in .pdf format for download at this link **
    Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog, it's too dark to read. Groucho Marx.
    IP

Thanks Bob. However, I have a problem using the blend tool between the two arrowheads - when I use it, the arrows come out deformed, though every other step works perfectly. This might be because I can't get the arrows to be directly across from one another (if so, how do you do that?), but otherwise is there something I'm missing here? Ty again.
    IP

This is curious! If you look at the attached, I drew a 30º arc for the green arrow blend, a 45º arc for the blue arrow blend and a 180º arc for the red arrow blend. I imagine you are getting a similar result to the red one.
    The green blend is fine, similar to my first post. The blue bend reduces the arrowheads in the middle of the blend. I used two 45º arcs to produce the orange blended result, but it's not perfect.
    To answer your question, to get the 2 arrows directly across, hold down the Ctrl Key when dragging with the mouse. In fact, If you right click and then Ctrl + Drag, you will get a message asking if you want to move or copy to the new position. This saves copying and pasting.