Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Thread: Free templates?

Default Free templates?

Hi ...

I've been using Xtreme for several years, and XWD for several months. Have several other Xara programs too, and love 'em. Finally got around to ordering, installing, and unlocking MenuMaker last night, and there's supposed to be a free set of templates available, but I'm either going crazy or blind, because I can't find any link except to a set of templates for purchase. Suggestions?

Default Re: Free templates?

Not sure Ken, I can only find the optional templates.

I'm sure that XWD was said to be Webstyle and MM's replacement anyway, there's been no updates since Feb 2004

Thanks ... I've used WebStyle off & on, but not recently. I didn't think Menu Maker would offer something not in WS, but wanted to get every available template.

The reason for looking backwards to these products is that I'm one of the folks somewhat frustrated with the lack of multi-level menu creation tools in XWD. I've used the forum to ask questions, and I think you're one of 'em who responded with helpful tips on how to do it, along with CurSor, Slavelle, and others. But it still involves too many steps (and mis-steps), and I've seen several references to using MM or WS to create the nav bar and menus, then just stuffing the code into a placeholder in XWD.

I went back to WS and found it very easy to create multi-level menus, and it makes me wonder why that's not just integrated into XWD, or (as has apparently happened) into Xara Xtreme. I just purchased the upgrade to that product, and it appears to contain all the functionality of XWD. Nice if you can do it all with one program ... but I haven't played with it the new Xtreme yet to see if it's got a real nav bar creation mode.

Many folks found the lack of those tools in XWD to be a glaring deficiency, and I guess I'd agree. Great program, but easier to go outside to create multi-level menus than to do it with all the finicky steps required in XWD.