Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default I would like to continue using Painter but...

I am a new user of Painter and I feel like I just drove an Italian sportscar. The thrill of the possibilities is there but the nagging mechanical issues are making me reconsider. I will list some of the program difficulties I am experiencing and you can let me know if it is the way I am woring with Painter or these are just bugs that are part of being a Painter user and you may want to go back to photoshop.

My computer specs are as follows: Dell XPS M1730 laptop with 4 gigs of ram, 2 80 gig 7200 rpm raid arrayed hardrives, 3.2 duo core processors, 2 1 gig nvidia 9800 video cards, win vista w/ latest updates. Intuos 3 pen. The hardware is there to run almost anything. I am playing with my friend's Painter 10.1 and a downloaded version of Painter 11.017.

1. Using the trial version of Painter 11, I love the added enhancements. However, I am sick of the "cannot open file message" everytime I want to open a riff file. I always have to open any image file first to open a riff file. I am working on a project that is 11x17 inches, 300 dpi, with almost 33 ink and watercolor layers. 120 meg file right now but I have worked on over 1 gig photoshop files and not had this issue.

2. Using Painter 10 or 11, the program gets stuck in the grabber tool mode sometimes or the brushes all of a sudden stop working. Have to shut down and restart.

3. I have never seen such long file saving in my life. Painter 10 or 11, it is ridiculous. We are talking almost 5 minutes at times.

4. The super slow and unpredictable movement of large brushes. This makes them unusable for real work. Smaller brushes are effortless for the most part and a joy to work with.