Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Default please help, beginner html coder

Hi,

I have been impressed with the level of knowledge on this site and feel someone may be able to help me. I have a site operational www.barkerbakes.co.uk which I wrote in html (am only self taught) but has been 'improved' with Xara webstyle 3 then 4 and have just bought webdesigner, But am dismayed on the difficulty of menu design in the latest package, also doesn't seem to allow variable width pages, which I use on my website for greater flexibility. Anyone got any solutions? I think I will have to go back to webstyle 4 and continue to cobble pages together with that and html etc.
    Any suggestions welcome.
    IP

Prince Edward Island, Canada --- The land of lawn tractors

Default Re: please help, beginner html coder

Hi - I don't know if I can be much help. I visited your site and was very impressed by all the great work the bakery does. I like how comprehensive the web site is --- makes me want to buy from the bakery.

As you note the existing site uses the variable width approach. Xara-WD, as a WYSIWYG design tool, doesn't use a variable width approach as doing so conflicts with the WYSIWYG principle. Generally speaking I'd suggest Xara-WD isn't suited to maintaining your particular site. That isn't to say it can't be useful to you and I think you could make good use of it. You can use it to make content for putting in some of your frames.