Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default How do I trace a gymnast?

Hi

I am looking to do a series of posters advertising some gymnastics, trampolining and cheerleading courses run at our leisure centre.

For the gymnastics poster, I'd quite like to have an outline of a gymnast in a typical 'finishing' or 'balancing' pose.

What is the best way to achieve this outline in Illustrator? I'm very new to this software but good at experimenting if someone could start me off in the right direction!

Thanks

Lisa
    IP

Default Re: How do I trace a gymnast?

Hi Lisa, you have several ways of approaching this.
    Go to Google Images and search for "athletes" or "gymnasts" and download any suitable results. Place them in Illustrator and with the pen tool, trace around the outlines.
    The pen tool is an absolute pig to use if you aren't familiar with it.
    Alternatively you can use the Live Trace option in Illustrator, which should give you outlines that you can work with.
    Thirdly, you could cheat and download either athletes.ttf and fitness silhouettes.ttf both free dingbat fonts and use those. (see attachment below).
    Saludos,
    Bob.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	athletes.png 
Views:	531 
Size:	64.2 KB 
ID:	56233  
    ** Detailed "Create A Spinning Logo Tutorial" is available in .pdf format for download at this link **
    Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog, it's too dark to read. Groucho Marx.
    IP

Thats a good starter for 10, Bob. I wasnt very happy with my pen tool effort, but I'll give the live trace option a go.

PS The boss was well impressed with my last beach hut effort!

Thanks

Lisa
    IP

Am I just daft, or is there no way around this problem I've encountered with the pen tool?...

When I am tracing around my gymnast, there's a white 'fill' that follows the pen around which is fine until it hides what I'm trying to trace around.

Lisa
    IP