Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Default picking out parts in colour...please help!

Hello people. I'm trying to figure out how to pick out parts of a photo in colour... An example would be a photo of a glass of wine, all of the photo is in black & white but I want the wine to show as it's original colour. I thought it might have been as simple as having the colour photo as my background, duplicating it in black & white & then erasing parts of the black & white picture... Once the true Coral Paintshop Pro'ers have finished laughing at my naivety, I would really appreciate it if you could give me some tips.... Ta very much,

Chris
    IP

Default Re: picking out parts in colour...please help!

Hey Chris,

I am very interested in this too but like you I am not an expert. I have always sort of done the opposite of what you have suggested. I would copy the whole picture in colour and then paste it as a new image.

Then I would make one black and white and then cut the wine bit out from the colour picture with the 'freehand selection tool', set in point to point on the options on the tool bar above the screen. While the old marching ants are zooming around the selection I would 'copy the selection' and then select the black and white pic' and (Cntrl + E) paste the colour wine bit onto the B&W pic. You can then click and drag the colour bit into position and then click on 'select none' in the selections option on the top tool bar. Once you have done that you can touch up around the join with the various tools.

There has got to be a better way but this might get you familiar with some of the tools before one of the clever PSPers get to reply to you. It has got me by for ages but I am really keen to hear the correct way.

Please if anyone answers would you talk in step by step idiots guide language, I am sure neither Chris or I would take offence.
    IP

Hi Chrisw87 and Chris1963,

Welcome to Talkgraphics.