Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New Designer

Default New Designer

Hi All,
    I am very new to graphics creation and have a couple of real quick questions for a new website: a) Is there some type of formula or standard by which I can know when to use a vector and when to use a bitmap image? b) What is a fairly simple way to add gloss to text and raw images so that they are web-presentable in a basic way and again whether a vector or bitmap is best? Thanx to everyone i advance!

Default Re: New Designer

As far as I know ALL website images are raster (bitmaps), I don't believe any website can show vector images.

The easiest way to make a gloss effect is to add white highlights either plain white or a graduated transparency.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	temp.png 
Views:	374 
Size:	2.1 KB 
ID:	54013  
    Last edited by ss-kalm; 28 November 2008 at 06:12 PM.
    Keith
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    There are 10 types of people in this world .... Those who understand binary, and those who don't.

SVG (Scalable Vector Graphics) can be displayed by web browsers and are a good way to show clean line and solid colour drawings at any resolution.

It is the way in which they are drawn/calculated that determines a vector graphic from a bitmap image.
    Everything you see on your screen is rasterized (bit mapped), even as you work and draw with vector.

Darn ... Missed that.

But since I use Internet Explorer 8 I can probably be excused ....

Quote from Wikipedia
    "All modern web browsers except Microsoft Internet Explorer support and render SVG markup directly. To view SVG files in Internet Explorer (IE), users have to download and install a browser plugin."
    Keith
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    There are 10 types of people in this world .... Those who understand binary, and those who don't.

Not all browsers support all of the SVG 1.1 standard.