Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Exporting out of XaraLX

Hi, I'm pretty new to Xara but thought I'd give it a try for a poster I need. I've now drawn the poster and was quite happy with Xara... until I came to export.

If I try to export as SVG I get an error message saying the filter failed but gave to error message of its own.

If I export to PDF, I get a poor quality representation with white borders that aren't in the image (it seems to export the drawing despite being told to export the page).

If I export to eps, the text doesn't come out.

If I try to print, xara just seg faults.

Does anyone have any advice on what format I should use in order to get a high res version printed up. For reference, the poster is A3 landscape, I'm on openSUSE 10.3 and I've tried both r1692 and r1785 from the website (both behave poorly wrt exports).

Thanks very much for any help!
    IP

Default Re: Exporting out of XaraLX

At the moment its only possible to export to bmp, jpg and png. Some ppl on this forum have had success with exporting to other formats, check some of the newer post. I havent tried/needed such features so I cant say if it works.
    IP

Hi Roberth:
    I just tried a quick export into .psd, and opened it on my other computer in Photoshop 6, it looked fine. Did not try printing it out, I know .psd's will open in The Gimp. I have some writing (it's a compass) on that file. Think I changed those letters to editable shapes. Have you tried saving a copy of your poster with a different name, and with you text selected, either right click or under "Arrange", click on "Convert to Editable Shapes". Just make sure you do this on a copy in case you want to edit the text on your poster. Then export as an .eps and if the rest of the poster has printed ok, I would think the converted text shapes will print just fine.
    Good Luck!
    Scott