Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default Safari problem could be solved

    I emailed Xara with the problem of the drop-down menus being out of position, and they replied the next day with this. I hope this helps anyone with the same problem. I haven't tried it yet though. If anyone found it works, let us all know!

    "There is a problem in Safari where the Xara menu is wrapped in an absolute DIV. Try removing the absolute DIV and using another layout method such as putting the Xara menu in a table cell."

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Safari problem could be solved

    OK, I just looked at this and I can't work it out! Does anyone know how to do this?!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Red Boiling Springs TN USA
    Posts
    19,208

    Default Re: Safari problem could be solved

    Hi FM98.5

    Welcome to Talkgraphics.

    Do you have a link to a page that exhibits the problem?

    The test menus I have created seem to work without problems in Safari 3.0.4
    Soquili
    a.k.a. Bill Taylor
    Bill is no longer with us. He died on 10 Dec 2012. We remember him always.
    My TG Album
    Last XaReg update

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Safari problem could be solved

    Thanks for you reply! I have made numerous sites with XaraMenu.
    www.scma1.com
    www.fm985.com.au
    www.scma1.com/conf/index.html
    I haven't got a MAC, but a visitor emailed me with the problem. According to a forum search, there are quite a few people with the same problem.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Red Boiling Springs TN USA
    Posts
    19,208

    Default Re: Safari problem could be solved

    I don't have a Mac either. I'm using Safari for Windows.

    I see the dropdown menus are showing up well below the main menu.

    I'll look at the source code for your site and see how to apply the fix that Xara Support provided. It will take a little while to test some things.

    The attached image shows how the menu looks in Safari.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mm-misalign.gif 
Views:	495 
Size:	71.8 KB 
ID:	46140  
    Last edited by Soquili; 04 March 2008 at 11:23 PM.
    Soquili
    a.k.a. Bill Taylor
    Bill is no longer with us. He died on 10 Dec 2012. We remember him always.
    My TG Album
    Last XaReg update

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Safari problem could be solved

    Soquili, thankyou so much for your time and help. I REALLY appreciate it. Did all 3 sites show the same?
    cheers,
    Mandy

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Red Boiling Springs TN USA
    Posts
    19,208

    Default Re: Safari problem could be solved

    Safari has issues when dropdown menus are contained in layers and/or Div tags.

    To make your pages display the same in Safari as they do in IE, FireFox, and Opera; will require changing the layout of the page where the menu is not in a floating layer and not within a Div /Div tag combination.

    If you can put the menu on the base layer of the page and put it in a Table rather than Div tags, it should work on all browsers.
    Soquili
    a.k.a. Bill Taylor
    Bill is no longer with us. He died on 10 Dec 2012. We remember him always.
    My TG Album
    Last XaReg update

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Safari problem could be solved

    Sorry to sound stupid, but how would I put it in a table and a base layer?
    Thanks so much,
    Mandy

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Red Boiling Springs TN USA
    Posts
    19,208

    Default Re: Safari problem could be solved

    Hi Mandy,

    It appears that Web Studio has nested so many DIV tags that it will require a total recreation of the webpage to make the menus work in the Safari browser.

    It is easy to put the code for the menu outside the DIV tags and onto the base layer. But the menu becomes hidden under all the other items in the top of the page.

    I do not know if that is a viable alternative with the relatively few Safari users on the internet.

    By the time you recreate the web sites Safari developers would probably have corrected the problem in their code.
    Last edited by Soquili; 06 March 2008 at 04:32 PM.
    Soquili
    a.k.a. Bill Taylor
    Bill is no longer with us. He died on 10 Dec 2012. We remember him always.
    My TG Album
    Last XaReg update

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Safari problem could be solved

    OK, it probably isn't worth mucking around with this, you're right. Thankyou so much for your help.

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •