Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
  1. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Webstyle4/Dreamweaver MX NavBar Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Fletch View Post
    Pete,

    This appears in your raw code:

    <script webstyle4>document.write('<scr'+'ipt src="xaramenu.js">'+'</scr'+'ipt>');document.write('<scr'+'ipt src="FrankenmouseTeeMenu/payment_types.js">'+'</scr'+'ipt>');/*img src="FrankenmouseTeeMenu/Payment_Types.gif" moduleid="Frankenmouse3color (Project)\Payment_Types_off.xws"*/</script>

    The 'src' URLs are highlighted in red, and I was going to suggest that you insert a full URL here, but I don't think this matters in the least. The 'img' and 'xws' references have been commented out, as you'd expect but, as Bill has said, there is no indication of the 'menu' graphic, which must exist for it to be displayed. I assume the menu graphic is "Payment_Types.gif"?

    I think it is "back to the drawing board" time!
    The "FrankenmouseTeeMenu" is the folder the Nav Bar gifs and links are in.

    Right, the menu graphics are "Payment_Types.gif"

    One thing I noticed though, when you brought this to my attention. While trying to solve another problem I had, unable to upload to remote site from Dreamweaver (turned out I had made an error in defining the remote site), I went back and got rid of all the upper case letters and unneeded spaces. I made sure I changed it in all files used on the local site. But now I notice the uppercase letters still appear in the raw code you copied. Does Dreamweaver puts in it's own uppercase letters into raw code when needed? If not, then some uppercase letters remain even after I changed the files.

    Should I go into the raw code and change the upper to lower case to match my current files? (after making a copy of it just in case)

    There is mention of the menu graphic in the separate "payment_types.js" file and mention of "mouse over behaviors" in the "xaramenu.js" file.


    ALSO, this is in the code of my home page (from local site), from the position of my nav bar; I see this on my remote site too.

    <div id="NavBarLowPipe" style="position:absolute; width:702px; height:187px; z-index:16; left: 160px; top: 370px; background-image: url(eeltankbanner/homemicetoppermiddlebottom.jpg); layer-background-image: url(eeltankbanner/homemicetoppermiddlebottom.jpg); border: 1px none #000000;">
    <script webstyle4>document.write('<scr'+'ipt src="xaramenu.js">'+'</scr'+'ipt>');document.write('<scr'+'ipt src="FrankenmouseTeeMenu/payment_types.js">'+'</scr'+'ipt>');/*img src="FrankenmouseTeeMenu/Payment_Types.gif" moduleid="Frankenmouse3color (Project)\Payment_Types_off.xws"*/</script>
    </div>


    I thought this was the code that would allow an association with the "payment_types.js" (gif files) and the "xaramenu.js" files.


    Thanks.................................Pete

    ........................Pete
    Last edited by ww1aero; 25 February 2008 at 12:48 AM.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Lisboa, Portugal
    Posts
    26

    Default Re: Webstyle4/Dreamweaver MX NavBar Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by ww1aero View Post
    ALSO, this is in the code of my home page (from local site), from the position of my nav bar;

    <div id="NavBarLowPipe" style="position:absolute; width:702px; height:187px; z-index:16; left: 160px; top: 370px; background-image: url(eeltankbanner/homemicetoppermiddlebottom.jpg); layer-background-image: url(eeltankbanner/homemicetoppermiddlebottom.jpg); border: 1px none #000000;">
    <script webstyle4>document.write('<scr'+'ipt src="xaramenu.js">'+'</scr'+'ipt>');document.write('<scr'+'ipt src="FrankenmouseTeeMenu/payment_types.js">'+'</scr'+'ipt>');/*img src="FrankenmouseTeeMenu/Payment_Types.gif" moduleid="Frankenmouse3color (Project)\Payment_Types_off.xws"*/</script>
    </div>
    Yup, already noted that, which is why I brought it to your attention in the previous post. Here is an example of one of my own in which I will highlight where the menu graphic goes, and where I think your NavBar menu graphic should appear:

    <div id="navbar">
    <div align="right"><img src="Motif_page4_files/Motif_page4_bar.gif" editor="Webstyle4" moduleid="fhcf-redone (Project)\Motif_page4_bar.xws" class="right"/>
    <script webstyle4>document.write('<scr'+'ipt src="xaramenu.js">'+'</scr'+'ipt>');document.write('<scr'+'ipt src="Motif_page4_files/motif_page4_hnavbar.js">'+'</scr'+'ipt>');/*img src="Motif_page4_files/Motif_page4_hnavbar.gif" moduleid="fhcf-redone (Project)\Motif_page4_hnavbar_off.xws"*/</script>
    </div>


    You'll notice that the two are almost identical layouts (project names different, of course), except that yours is missing the menu graphic. Also, you've used 'absolute' for positioning and a 'z-index' which might be interfering with how the browser is rendering the final page. Worth checking that, especially if it isn't Xara-generated.

    It isn't Dreamweaver that is capitalising the names, it is WS4. One of its eccentricities, but from experience it doesn't break anything. It also sets several other parameters that fail W3C validation (e.g. there's no such recognised markup as editor="Webstyle4"), but I eventually delete those when I know the website build is complete.

    We'll eat this elephant, one bite at a time ... !
    Take my advice. I'm not using it!

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Red Boiling Springs TN USA
    Posts
    19,208

    Default Re: Webstyle4/Dreamweaver MX NavBar Problem

    Hi Pete and Terry (Fletch)

    I just got home from work. Sunday is my 16 to 18 hour day

    I see you two are getting well into working out the problem.

    I'll sit back and learn from both of you if you don't mind.

    I don't have much experience with Dreamweaver.
    Soquili
    a.k.a. Bill Taylor
    Bill is no longer with us. He died on 10 Dec 2012. We remember him always.
    My TG Album
    Last XaReg update

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Webstyle4/Dreamweaver MX NavBar Problem

    Thanks for the help Fletch (and Bill, I can use Dreamweaver, but I sure don't feel comfy with code),

    Fletch, I'll try to plug in this modification and see what happens; Black was there already, Red I added.....

    <div id="NavBarLowPipe" style="position:absolute; width:702px; height:187px; z-index:16; left: 160px; top: 370px; background-image: url(eeltankbanner/homemicetoppermiddlebottom.jpg); layer-background-image: url(eeltankbanner/homemicetoppermiddlebottom.jpg); border: 1px none #000000;">
    <img src="FrankenmouseTeeMenu/Payment_Types.gif" editor="Webstyle4" moduleid="Frankenmouse3color (Project)\Payment_Types.xws">
    <script webstyle4>document.write('<scr'+'ipt src="xaramenu.js">'+'</scr'+'ipt>');document.write('<scr'+'ipt src="FrankenmouseTeeMenu/payment_types.js">'+'</scr'+'ipt>');/*img src="FrankenmouseTeeMenu/Payment_Types.gif" moduleid="Frankenmouse3color (Project)\Payment_Types_off.xws"*/</script>
    </div>

    ...........................................Pete
    Last edited by ww1aero; 25 February 2008 at 05:52 AM.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Webstyle4/Dreamweaver MX NavBar Problem

    I tried the modification, and although it didn't get the bar to show, I am now seeing an "X" (missing file) box in the place the Nav Bar should appear.

    www.Frankenmouse.com

    At least I can see a change in the correct spot.

    But I don't know enough about code to figure out what else I should add or leave out.

    I also have a request in for help with Xara, not that I can count on getting the solution from them.

    Just so you know what you're looking at in my raw code, this is how my file structure is laid out for my home page on my remote host;

    Home/ public_html/ frankenmouseteemenu(My Nav Bar folder), Then files for the Nav Bar gifs, starting with Payment Types.gif, (which is the main underlying nav bar graphic), then various "links.gif"s, mouseover "links.gif"s, a payment_types.js file, then more gifs labled payment types.gif .

    Thanks...................................Pete
    Last edited by ww1aero; 25 February 2008 at 05:41 AM.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Lisboa, Portugal
    Posts
    26

    Default Re: Webstyle4/Dreamweaver MX NavBar Problem

    Pete,

    It is looking for:

    http://www.frankenmouse.com/frankenm...ment_types.gif

    Make sure that the graphic exists, and that it is in the right directory on your site. That should fix it.

    I tried accessing the 'gif' file directly, but I get a 404 error, so it appears that something is 'broken' in the URL (your directory structure on the site might not be the same as the way you're calling it up on your own computer).

    Getting closer ... !!



    Update: I think I've spotted the problem. This is probably as a result of you editing your filenames locally to change them to lower case and leaving the original 'gifs' in the Xara format with capitalised filenames (or was that the other way round?). Take a closer look.

    http://www.frankenmouse.com/frankenm...ment_Types.gif

    The script finds the image when it is identified as "Payment_Types.gif", but goes walkabout when it is asked to display "payment_types.gif". I suspect that the rest of the graphics (and code?) you edited are probably affected in the same way. But at least you now know what to do to fix it ... !!
    Last edited by Fletch; 25 February 2008 at 01:49 PM.
    Take my advice. I'm not using it!

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Red Boiling Springs TN USA
    Posts
    19,208

    Default Re: Webstyle4/Dreamweaver MX NavBar Problem

    Pete I did a Whois search for your domain and see that it is hosted on an Apache web server.

    Apache is most likely running on a Unix or Linux server which is a case sensitive operating system.

    Windows is not case sensitive so Payment_Types.gif and payment_types.gif would be the same on Windows.

    On Unix and Linux Payment_Types.gif and payment_types.gif would be two different files.

    Not much help but maybe a little background to help isolate the problem.
    Soquili
    a.k.a. Bill Taylor
    Bill is no longer with us. He died on 10 Dec 2012. We remember him always.
    My TG Album
    Last XaReg update

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Brockville, Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    4,619

    Default Re: Webstyle4/Dreamweaver MX NavBar Problem

    To be on the safe side with websites generally, don't use any upper case or spaces in filenames or directories.
    Keith
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    There are 10 types of people in this world .... Those who understand binary, and those who don't.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Lisboa, Portugal
    Posts
    26

    Default Re: Webstyle4/Dreamweaver MX NavBar Problem

    Can't agree more, Keith! But tell that to the Xara design crew ... !

    ---------------------------------------------------------------

    Pete,

    I guess this is what you're aiming for, but I couldn't produce any 'rollover/mouseover' effects in the Navbar. But the graphic works ...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	frankenmouse_homepage.jpg 
Views:	194 
Size:	169.5 KB 
ID:	45855  
    Take my advice. I'm not using it!

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Webstyle4/Dreamweaver MX NavBar Problem

    Hey, Thanks A Lot! I really appreciate the help. It's a good thing I saw your posts before I read Xara support's first suggestion. They saw the same problem, but didn't notice it was "upper/lower case" related. They saw that the code was looking for my www.frankenmouse.com URL , and I saw that the real path in my host's file manager starts with Home/public_html/ , so I was going to change those first.

    Ironic that I got into trouble trying to get rid of what I THOUGHT would cause trouble (upper case letters), only to CAUSE the kind of problem I was trying to avoid in the first place.

    UPDATE: All I had to do was change one folder, "frankenmouseteemenu" to "FrankenmouseTeeMenu"! So much for trying to be careful not to put in any uppercase letters.......geeeesh.........

    ...............Thanks again for all your help Fletch.........and also Bill and Keith.

    ................Pete
    Last edited by ww1aero; 26 February 2008 at 07:06 AM.

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •