Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Default Erase a scanned text

I am very much new to Photoshop and I got "Adobe Photoshop cs2 " got installed on my system.

I have scanned a document and I need to make changes to that by erasing some text( as it is printed incorrectly) and rewrite with correct word using the same font,with the same background and every thing as in the original scanned image( except the correction).

So please help.......
    IP

Default Re: Erase a scanned text

It depends a bit on the background, but usually you have to use the clone stamp and healing brushes. It is a good idea to do the correction on a new layer and check the assign to all layers when using the tools.
    Paul the Gnurfmeister!
    Home: http://www.gnurf.net/v3/ | My stuff for sale: http://www.zazzle.com/gnurf* | Follow me on Twitter: http://twitter.com/pasoderholm

IP

hello gnruff,
    I already told that I am a layman in photoshop and now listen to requirement.

I have scanned a weatish coloured document and it contains some hand written text(black coloured) on the weatish background.

Now I want to erace that black text and retain the background.

please guide me from the scratch ....
    IP

This came from a tutorial I did from years back and also from the help files that come with PS. Never forget the power of PS's help files you can get answers very quickly!

Adobe Photoshop’s Background Eraser tool allows the user to obliterate the background graphics of any image. On the selected layer, the pixels are reduced to transparency as you drag. Various sampling and tolerance options can be used to control the range of transparency and boundary sharpness. It is grouped in with the eraser tool.

The various options of the background eraser are: -
    # The Discontiguous option is used to remove a sample color from the layer
    # The Contiguous option is used to erase connected areas having the sample color.