Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Default Xara Crashes when Printing

Hello all,

I'm new to both Ubuntu and Xara, and would like to say how impressed and excited I am about both of them. I'm running running Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy Eft and Xara Xtreme Version: 0.7r1692-2 (xaralx).

Problem is, every time I try to print from Xara, the program crashes. This happens when I try to print either to a physical printer or as a PDF document.

I've tried printing from OpenOffice and it works fine.

I would really like to make Xara my graphics software of choice, but I really need to be able to produce both PDF's and hard copies of my work, so any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
    G
    IP

Default Re: Xara Crashes when Printing

please try the latest version 1780.
    IP

I am running ubuntu gutsy and wanted to update to the latest ver 17.80.

However, I cannot figure out how to make Xara work.

I have tried all instructions given, but no luck. Any help?
    IP

usually I just install xara in my /home folder. download the bz2 package and extract it into your home folder, then create a link to to the xaralx executable on your desktop or wherever.

OK, just re-read your post...what problems are you having?

@gbacon2 if printing from xara doesnt work in 1780 (havent tried myself) you can always export to png, jpeg or gif and print from some other app.
    Last edited by con; 08 October 2007 at 07:04 PM.
    IP

Have tried the autopackage at:

http://www.xaraxtreme.org/download/

frank
    IP

Thank you! That seems to have fixed it!
    IP

I am running ubuntu gutsy and i want to run the latest version of xara (1783).

When I try to run the package program, it crashes. When I try to run the tar file, it will unzip the program, but I cannot get it to run.

I love this prog. I recently (June) switched from windows and was a major beta tester for serif page plus and quark xpress.