Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Best Settings for A4

Hi there,

I’m new to Painter and was hoping that some of you could point me in the right direction. I bought A Wacom A5 tablet that came with Painter Essentials 3 and I have downloaded a 30 day trail of X. I have just been playing around but now want to start printing things off, so…

What are the best settings (pixels, inches, CM etc) to make the canvas if I want to print out in A4. Also, the image is little blocky at times so If any one could tell me the best resolution to set at, that would be great.

So basically I just want to know how to start the best possible session to eventually print out in A4.

Thanks alot for any help you can offer.

Pete
    IP

Default Re: Best Settings for A4

Hi Pete,

I'm in the U.S. and haven't memorized A4, etc. size equivalents in inches but my research this morning at Paper Size Conversion - SysCon Technology, Inc. tells me A4 is the equivalent of 8.27 x 11.69 inches. Except for that one, the rest I calculated using Painter's New dialog box and after entering 8.27 x 11.69 inches and a Resolution of 300 ppi, changing the unit of measure to get the rest:

8.27 x 11.69 inches at 300 ppi

2481 x 3507 pixels at 300 ppi

21.006 x 29.693 CM at 300 ppi

49.806 x 70.403 picas at 300 ppi

Since I use inches when I plan to set up a new Canvas for eventual printing, and since 300 ppi is a generally safe Resolution, if I wanted to print at A4 size I'd use:

8.27 x 11.69 inches at 300 ppi

It's not likely I'd want to print at A4, so what I'd probably do is set up my Canvas at:

8.5 x 11 inches at 300 ppi since that's a standard paper size in the U.S.

Or, if I wanted it printed at some other size, I'd set my new Canvas up using those dimensions in inches and set the Resolution to 300 ppi.