Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Is a rotating coffee mug possible?

Hi all. I have downloaded trial versions of xtreme and X3DS and have been having a play around using hints and tips from you guys with a view to buying the programs for educational use (I work in education). I want to be able to produce a rotating coffee mug with text on one side and an image on the other. All my attempts so far still look like a rotating logo! There is no depth to the mug I create and no amount of tweaking the bevel option will produce the desired rounded shape. Is there any way of creating a 2D mesh that will be rendered as a 3d object, which can then be animated (rotated) and finally saved as a flash file? I freely admit that the rotating mug is a personal thing but if I can get my head around that I can create some decent projects for the kids. I was attracted to xara because of it's apparent simplicity, I don't want to use high end 3d programs as they may be outside of the students grasp. Any ideas welcome! Andy.

Default Re: Is a rotating coffee mug possible?

Hello, AndyF, welcome to Talkgraphics.

Your question is an interesting one, because it points up a restriction of Xara3D. The short answer is: Not easily!

The long answer is:

When you use Xara3D to make a flat shape into 3d, the only means Xara3D has to do this is Extrusion, where it stretches the shape along the z-axis, thus making, say, a flat 2d circle into a 3d cylinder. The front face of the cylinder is the circular end of the cylinder that faces out to the viewer, and it is only onto this face that Xara3D applies textures, which are bitmap images painted onto a surface. This texture is itself extruded along the z-axis of the shape, and is therefore visible in reverse on the opposite end of the cylinder. If the side of the cylinder does not bulge in any way, then all you will see on the side is straight lines stretching from front edge to rear edge, not an image of the texture.