Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default SVG. The way forward or a blind alley?

I've been hearing of the virtues of svg for at least four years now and to date it really doesn't appear to have made the impact of the early hype.

I've no axe to grind either way, but I've yet to see a breakthrough in this file types usage. I've only come across one web site that used an svg file as an integral part of the site. All the other svg files I have encountered have been to demonstrate svg's capabilities, but not as an integral part of a standard web site.

It would appear to me that the main thrust for using svg at present is within vector file exchange, via import / export filters.

Is this as good as it gets?
    Last edited by Egg Bramhill; 03 May 2007 at 11:45 PM.
    Egg

Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16 GB Ram + NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1660 Graphics Card + MSI Optix Mag321 Curv monitor
    + Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB SSD + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive + ISP = BT + Web Hosting = TSO Host
    IP

Default Re: SVG. The way forward or a blind alley?

It does appear that support for SVG is declining rather than progressing.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scalable_Vector_Graphics

The wikipedia article states that Adobe has announced it will discontinue their SVG browser plugin on January 1, 2008.

From the article it also appears that very few browsers support full SVG specifications.

I think I remember some posts about SVG being the up and coming 'new' thing. Is any technology that is 6 years old or older (1998?) ready to sweep the vector graphics industry?

Like Egg, I don't have any Axe to grind. But I would like to know if SVG will become more available or slowly evaporate.
    Soquili
    a.k.a. Bill Taylor
    Bill is no longer with us. He died on 10 Dec 2012. We remember him always.
    My TG Album
    Last XaReg update
    IP