Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Installing Webstyle 4 on Dell with Vista Business

I have been trying for days to get Webstyle 4 loaded on my new Vista PC. It worked great on XP Pro - but my office PC was replaced with a Vista machine.

Turning of UAC and signing in as an administrator I have gotten the product to load and unlock - BUT - very few of the items (in each category) can be clicked on without the buttons on the left turning gray. I have tried loading from the downloaded installer and from the CD. I have purchased a few packs so I should have tons of the graphics available to me.

The update process states I have all of my files up-to-date. It did go through a lengthy download process the first time through as it populated my templates. Well now that I have my templates downloaded WHAT CAN I DO TO USE THEM? There is no $ next to the graphics. They look just as they did on my XP Pro machine, except I cannot edit/save them. Well a small percentage I can.

Any ideas please let me know. I have put so many hours into this that I have to figure it out.

Thanks

Default Re: Installing Webstyle 4 on Dell with Vista Business

Have you tried right clicking the Webstyle icon and selecting "Run as Administrator" to start the program? Was UAC turned off when you downloaded your templates?

I have not had problems, but I disabled UAC and do not allow it to function. You may not have that option on your work computer.
    Soquili
    a.k.a. Bill Taylor
    Bill is no longer with us. He died on 10 Dec 2012. We remember him always.
    My TG Album
    Last XaReg update

I uninstalled webstyle. Then disabled UAC. I then installed webstyle from the downloaded file from Xara (I did not use my CD this time). I also run webstyle with the "run as administrator" selection.