Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Default Probably really stupid question

Hi,

This is probably the simplest thing - but i am a newbie and I did not have enough time to study the products before i started an ad book project because my trial ran out long before i was able to afford the full CS@ - anyway.

I took this bitmap and opened it in both photoshop and illustrator

No matter what i have tried, i cannot remove the square from the top or crop it off. If it helps this problem to turn it to greyscale - i will need to do that anyway. I tried that, but still couldn't edit the top square.

What i am doing wrong? - and stop laughing
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Attached Files Attached Files
    IP

Default Re: Probably really stupid question

Hey qdesign:
    Not stupid at all, and I'm only laughing because we All have done it.
    I opened the .psd with The Gimp and couldn't edit it, either. Then I duplicated the layer and was able to crop off the rectangle at the top in the duplicated layer.
    First make sure you re-save your file with a different name. I often use a number and letter combination tacked on to the original file name, then you can edit the new file.
    The original layer was probably locked as an opened background layer often is and you can't directly unlock that particular layer. If you duplicate the layer however and then edit the new layer and toss the original locked layer, you'll have it fixed. You can duplicate the layer that's highlighted in the layers palette.
    If your still not getting it, let me know. I'm assuming you are using Illustrator?
    Scott
    IP

Don't have either program, but was able to do it in Paint Shop Pro and save it to PSD format.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    IP

In Photo Shop you can select the eraser tool and erase the section in question.

Danny
    IP

This opened for me as index color which does not support layers - so layer was locked. [PS6]
    Changing mode to RGB unlocked it