Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Thread: B&W Negatives

I'm a real novice at computing. I'm not even sure what PhotoShop is. But, maybe someone can help me. I recently visited a long lost cousin. She has several shoe boxes full of 6x9 black and white (B&W) negatives of photos taken in the 1920's of our family, including her mother, my father (They are brother and sister) our grandparents, etc. We have no idea where the positive B&W photo prints are if they exist at all. So, we would like to find a way (hardware and software) to scan these negatives, store them in digital form on a computer,and print them out as positive B&W prints. Any suggestions are greatly apprecicated.
    IP

Hello grranch, Welcome to I-US, I opened your topic so a reply could be posted, you might want to peek at the faq to get an idea about posting options, a closed topic means nothing else can be posted to it.

Your best bet for the film would be to take it to someone who has a darkroom / enlarger with a 6 inch negative mount, have them make prints.

To scan the film you will need a scanner with a transparency adapter, scan the film then invert the image with photo editing software to make it positive.

best wishes
    Mike Bailey, visiting moderator
    IP

About 18 months had to restore some old and damaged photographs from around the 1920's for a friend.

The tool I ended up using was, unbelievably, Kai's PhotoSoap V1.0 a $30 package. It was made for the task.

If you do get your negatives into a computer readable format I can definitely recommend looking at this package, it is designed for novices to use, but some of it's features are so good and I'll be honest about this fun, I still use it on occasions.

It's difficult to get hold of now since Metacreations sold off all their programs and I am unsure where this particular program ended up.

Peter

P.S. Silly me I forgot I could upload an example.

[This message was edited by Peter Clifton on September 14, 2000 at 08:07 AM.]