Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Creating a slideshow from external images

I have to create a flash movie in which external images fade in and out on their own. I'll be using large size images and I can format them all the same, but I need to do this without having to rebuild the swf every time images are introduced.

I know this has to have been done before. Can anyone help? I'm pretty new to flash, especially programming sides of it.
    IP

Default Re: Creating a slideshow from external images

You have various ways to do so. If you are not familiar with Actionscript then it would be hard for any of us to instruct you. I can give you a link to follow some of the tutorials.
    http://tutorialoutpost.com/count/5113
    http://www.frunder.com/tutorials/flash/blureffect/
    http://learnflash.com/wp/

Browse the links - the last one has video tutorials I think you will find them useful.
    You also have a paid site http://www.cartoonsmart.com/advanced_smart_topics.html

Hope this helps.

Availor
    IP

Michael,

I think one of the main disadvantages of this would be the delay time in loading the next external image. Not to bad on a broadband connection but useless on a dial up connection.

I can do it with buttons but as a self running image it may take some coding.

However actionscript.org have a great tutorial HERE that might solve your problems.
    Egg

Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16 GB Ram + NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1660 Graphics Card + MSI Optix Mag321 Curv monitor
    + Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB SSD + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive + ISP = BT + Web Hosting = TSO Host
    IP

Thanks a lot for those links, that actionscript link in particular. This is going to be a local based flash file, not an interet based one. My company has some software that can play media and embed flash. This will be the best way to create the slideshow I have of a couple hundred images I think.