Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

I am about to embark on building my own web-site, I would really appreciate your views on a good program to build a web-site with. Being a complete novice, to web-building, would you recommend "CuteSite Builder"? and would it work well with Xara Webstyle4?, or does anyone have a better recommendation? Any feedback would be much appreciated.joyceandstevieb@eircom.net

if you want it to work, dreamwever I think is the program that most users here play with. I have been playing with web pages for about 8 years. Basically before any of these fancy programs came out, so I know the code and sling it. My web design tools of choice are wordpad and xara. Everyone else thinks I am nuts to still be slinging the code tho.

Thanx for ur reply John. I can understand why u prefer wordpad, as u have total control, but I fear I may be too old, and not enough patience to learn all the HTML tags etc to write my own. I'll check out Dreamweaver.
    I only asked about CuteSite Builder as it was a program suggested to me.

Sorry StevieB,

Can not help you there. I am not a good reviewer of that type of software. Will find the capabilities and limitations of any of them within 5 minutes.

StevieB

I think most of the budget-end tools will be much of a muchness - they will all have strengths and all have weaknesses. Webstyle is less of a building tool - it is good however for creating a design that you then finish off and build in, for example, Dreamweaver. I used Hotmetal for years (sadly defunct? Version 6.0 was the last.) AceHTML is one that inspires love and hate!

You would be best to use whatever you can get at a decent price, learn it, dip into the html as John says, learn to make the graphics in XaraX as you are doing. And then when you hit that "I wish it could do" moment, dig deep into your pocket and buy Dreamweaver. Avoid thinking that another budget product will solve your problem - instead it will introduce more!