Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Question Help Please, Newbie

I am not sure if I am in the correct Thread, but it did say ...freelancing.

Well, Hello you guys. My name is Amalia. I just graduated June 3, 06 for Graphic Design and Multimedia. I am also a Loan officer. I have a question. And please, let me know if im in the wrong thread

I do not have a GD job yet so I guess you can say that this is freelancing.

My mortgage broker wants me to design two designs. One is going to be for a Flyer. The other will be a design that she is wanting to put on the front of a
    9"x11" presentation folder.

Now, since this isnt a "class assignment"....I am getting nervous.
    I dont know how big to make the two designs....well, the flyer will be on a stadard size letter paper. I am not sure which program to create this in....Photoshop, or Illustrator...or maybe InDesign. Any suggestions? PLEASE.

I also have another question. I do not know how much to charge her for both designs. I am lost. I hope I didnt ask for to much. But thank you anyways for reading my post.

Amalia

Default Re: Help Please, Newbie

I just graduated June 3, 06 for Graphic Design and Multimedia.
    Congratulations.

I am also a Loan officer.
    Full time I suppose?

I dont know how big to make the two designs....well, the flyer will be on a stadard size letter paper.
    Well the flyer will most likely use all the available space, Some graphics, text, photo's, etc...

The other could just be a label of some sort, ask your mortgage broker what size to make it.

I do not know how much to charge her for both designs.
    How much do you make as a loan officer? I would say you'll be working overtime, charge hourly, a minimum of time and a half or double your usual pay, plus expenses. When it comes to charging get as much as you can but don't overcharge your customers. You could be sneeky and call a competitor as if you were seeking to get some work done for yourself, then ask how much they charge.