Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Default New to PSP - Really need some help!!

I am a complete beginner to enhancing my digital photos and have started using Jasc Shop Pro 8 for the first time. I felt my holiday photos just needed to be lightened and made more sharp, so I used the Automatic Colour Balance, Automatic Contrast Enhancement and Unsharp Mask (not sure what this really is, but read something about it once and thought I'd give it a try! - it made my photos look really clear). After just using these options, I thought the photos looked really good on screen, but that was until I started printing them! They came out tinged with an orangy colour on the darker parts, perhaps shadowy areas, e.g. on top of the heads of people. Some also looked a bit like negatives but in colour. (Sorry my non-technical jargon - I did say I was a beginner!!) So what have I done wrong? I hope someone can help as I really want a good set of photos to show family/friends. Any advice would be most appreciated.
    IP

Default Re: New to PSP - Really need some help!!

It's difficult to say what could be the problem.

First make sure you have the correct printer chose on the Print Dialog and that it's driver is installed.

Sometimes though under the Options Menu of the Print Dialog Box (the box that pops up after you do File>Print.) will show that Negative box is checked. (see the image below.) If the negative box is checked, uncheck it.

I would also check the Color on the same dialog box page. Sometimes CMYK printing separations will drive a printer crazy.

If this doesn't help come back, we can try to narrow it down.

Oh, and do a print test before you print your photos. Most printers have a way to do this from their own software that comes installed with the CD shipped with the printer.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	pspdialogprint.jpg 
Views:	208 
Size:	37.8 KB 
ID:	27447  
    Last edited by jamesmc; 05 July 2006 at 02:29 AM.