Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Question Making White Background Transparent

I am new to graphics and in particular Xara Xtreme. I have taken a copy of my logo from a Word document and placed in Xara. It appears that the artwork is contained in a white rectangular box. I want my logo to be placed on a coloured background without the white box appearing. Can anyone help me? Your help is most appreciated!

Default Re: Making White Background Transparent

The Xtreme veterans will probably help you more with this than I can.

Look at my Chihuahua Avatar next to my name. I did this method below.

Here's an old tried and true method for bitmap based logos and the one I used on the chihuahua.

1. Screen shot the page (press printscreen button) where the graphic logo is going to be placed.
    2. Imported the screen shot (paste) into your paint software.
    3. Make sure your logo is loaded up and active, click on it.
    4. Sample the fill of the color on the page or particular area (notice the blue around the chihuahua is different than the rest of the pages colors) where your graphic will be placed.
    5. Use that fill to surround the logo.
    You might get rough looking edges this way, but can use a blur tool to smooth things out or edit fill/paint pixel by pixel.
    =============
    The Xara way or at least one way I can think of is:

If your logo is rectangular in shape make a rectangle, otherwise you can use one of the line tools to trace outline the outside of your logo.

Once you get near the end of the trance the symbol will turn into a "+" meaning that you can connect the outline. You will now have a outline filled shape of your logo.

Don't move either shape, leave them in place. With your cursor arrow (pointer) draw an bounding box (line will form a box around both graphics as you draw the rectangle.)

Click on the menu Item ARRANGE>Combine Shapes>Slice(cut) Shapes.