Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Need to create transparent Scrabble tiles

I'm a newbie when it comes to creating my own objects in PI; I've just been using it for basic photo re-touching. I'm using version 8. So, my daughter is on her school's yearbook staff and was tasked with designing the front cover of the yearbook. One of the things they want to do is to super-impose transparent Scrabble tiles over a collage of student pictures. The tiles need to be transparent/translucent in order to see the faces underneath. Can this type of object be created in PI? Would I have to create individual objects for each letter that I need or could I type a phrase, such as the title of the yearbook, and then add effects to it to make it look like Scrabble tiles?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

IP

Default Re: Need to create transparent Scrabble tiles

You can make any object transparent. You have drawing modes, in the normal mode, just drag the slider and you will get varing levels of transparency. This will not work on the bottom layer, but on any other.

In regards to the tiling, PI will want to make an object and place them on individual layers. But you can group your layers and they will behave as one, or you can merge them. But merging will make you tiles ineditable, your text will be turned into an image and you can't get it back.

Grouping is better, usually.

I'd suggest finding out how they are printing it. If it is being printed in CMYK or Grayscale or in Spot Color. And if the cover has a bleed. (Extra area the printer needs to print past the crop line to insure you don't have little white lines on the edge of your cover.)

If they want you to do a color separation, you can't do one in PI, it is only RGB.
    Last edited by sallybode; 06 December 2005 at 01:32 AM.
    IP

Thanks for the info. Do you know of any instructions/pointers/tutorials on how to get started with creating the objects?

Thanks!

IP

Hi!