Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Gateshead,UK
    Posts
    27

    Default

    How do you do this in order to make them load faster on subsequent web pages.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    59

    Default

    Nav bars are in a separate place from the web pages. If you decide to use a page design from WebStyle, first of all set up a folder which will hold it. Call it, say, <span class="ev_code_RED">site</span>. Decide what you are going to have on your Nav Bars. Make them so that every page will have the same Nav Bars - so you may find that your Nav Bars will have a self referencing button: eg if you look at http://www.churchard.pwp.blueyonder....sions/Apr.html you will find that on the vertical nav bar there is a button for April - and it is highlighted. Make changes to the Webstyle template - colours, things which will be on every page, the tables layout, Nav Bars etc. Remove all the other content. Save as say, <span class="ev_code_GREEN">index</span>, in the folder, <span class="ev_code_RED">site</span>. (WebStyle will suggest a name based on the theme name - not generally a good idea). You will also need to save the page as a project. This is a convenience as it allows you to change things like gifs and jpegs later which otherwise would have to be recreated from scratch. Use a meaningful name.

    If you look in the folder <span class="ev_code_RED">site</span> you will find a sub folder <span class="ev_code_BLUE">index_files</span> and the page <span class="ev_code_GREEN">index.html</span>. A good idea is, before you put content into <span class="ev_code_GREEN">index.html</span>, to save it again as <span class="ev_code_PURPLE">blank.html</span>. Then you can use blank to make more related pages. These will have the same page furniture you set up in WebStyle. And all the page furniture is in <span class="ev_code_BLUE">index_files</span>. You do not need to do anything to the contents of <span class="ev_code_BLUE">index_files</span>.

    If you change the Nav Bars later, make sure you save them in <span class="ev_code_BLUE">index_files</span> - but WebStyle will try to do that anyway. And when you upload changes make sure that you upload the <span class="ev_code_BLUE">index_files</span> subfolder as well - because that is where WebStyle has stored any changes.
    Geology in the Bristol Area
    www.wega.org.uk
    Walking in the Auvergne
    www.churchard.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    France
    Posts
    14

    Default

    http://www.talkgraphics.com/images/smilies/wink.gifChatterie de La Vieille Grange

    May I add my input here?
    I don't have this pb for I use frames......I am still trying to figure out why do everyone abandon frames in web design, but here it is:
    I installed my navbars in the left frame and the content is displayed in the main frame.
    As a result: the main page is loaded fast enough, and the navbar is loaded only once

    Any constructive remark is welcome

  4. #4

    Default

    Fred Level
    - I was investigate in FP looking for frames, I found them. I was creating a discussion website as I experimented with Xara. FP gives me a variety of layouts and warns that "Not all browsers support Frames." We have Opera, Mozilla, Netscape and IE, and many version.
    - Here's two Ergonomic issues. 1. Example: MSN hotmail. Keeps their frame on top of everything I link to from my email account, it stays at the top of the screen steeling my realestate. Ironically, when in hotmail they don't have a frame on my page, it's just when I link to something.
    Frames do not scroll up, so "Branding" stays at the top of the screen. Some sites have a button that says click here to break out of someone else's frames. Ergonomic issue 2: People using 640-480 screen resolution can get fed up with a frame that takes up 1/4 of the page they can see (6 of 24 lines). FP provide the option to view a screen in 640x480 size. My personal opinion, about 3 years ago was that it was no longer acceptable for me to use a screen with that size because too much information on the internet required me to scroll sideways down and sideways again. So now I refuse to code for any user who has a screen resolution smaller than 800x???. My guess is that the distaste for frames arose around that time or earlier. Now it may no longer be particularily relevent. Although we still have the browser issue.
    BrianE
    - thanks for doing that experiment it allows me to draw some conclusions, that will be to my benefit when considering users who have low-speed access, and perhaps to you as well.
    - You accomplished your goal, of eliminating slow menues, by preloading on your home page. Your statement "I have pre-loaded my images onto the readers HD thru JavaScript." is a bit incomplete. You pre-loaded them to the users temporary internet cache on their harddrive. After all tomorrow they don't have them anymore.
    - Warning - If your website is cataloged by a search engine, it will catalog any page with enough relevent content. In such a case, I could link from a search engine to any page in your site. So if I don't come through the home page, I don't get the items cached for me. I think that Preloading of a any active graphics menu bar, would at least double it's load time as specified by the Xara software. But I could be wrong, we would have to ask them. For pre-caching the waiting happens before the page even shows up, rather than while you are looking at the screen. For myself I'm not going to preload my Xara menu on any pages even though you identified the same problem on my page as on yours. If I force precaching of my menu bar on every page it would take an extra 6 seconds to load every page for your machine. Why? Because even if the images are there, we are forcing the precaching. If I do nothing there is a problem on the first page and on any subsequest page where the user accesses a menu item they accessed before. You verified by accessing everything on the first page of mine that the problem is a first time use problem for each and every active graphic on the menu. With frames the Menubar would still have to be preloaded once, to avoid the problem. Given that it's frames, it would do it only once.
    I would say that any button that appears on only one page is a good candidate for precaching if you think that most users are going to clickon/hover over it.

    <span class="ev_code_BLUE">Does someone know if I'm right. If you force precaching of items does it do it everytime you return to that page. </span>

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Gateshead,UK
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Thanks for the interest shown in this topic. For sometime I was a little surprised that no one seemed to think it worthy of comment.
    I have pre-loaded my navbars on the SPLASH PAGE, hence no one can return to this page via the web site navbars. This is an introductor page which acts as a filter for those coming to the site in error.
    TVAA
    If I go to a web page on the site without going thro' the SPLASH PAGE the navbars loaded slower i.e. button by button.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Gateshead,UK
    Posts
    27

    Default

    How do you do this in order to make them load faster on subsequent web pages.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Gateshead,UK
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Further to pre-loading navbars I also pre-loaded some mouse overs: these also loading much faster and were less sluggish than they had previously been.
    my settings are:-
    Automatic
    1224Mb.
    If you are using high speed connection I would not expect to see any difference.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Gateshead,UK
    Posts
    27

    Default

    If you have photos or pictures, such as, banners or navigation bars that are on all of the pages on the site: it makes the loading quicker if you pre-load them onto your hardrive. You are correct in say once they are on my HD there are on my computer, but it is not me I'm trying to satisfy. It is the readers of my site: who will not have them on their HD. So I'm pre-loading the images to make the site run quicker on everyones computer.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Gateshead,UK
    Posts
    27

    Default

    FP-User:-
    I tried the experiment and the navbars loaded button by button on the opening page, however on subsequent pages they load instantaneously.
    Fred Level:-
    Frames are certainly not in fashion today, however I have looked at your site and I like the layout. It certainly is a possible solution to slow loading navbars as you only load them the once.
    I think frames are not popular because in the early days you tended to have TOP Frame followed by a LEFT & RIGHT Frame: then designers would add vertical and/or horizontal scroll bars which made the whole page untidy.
    I think they is a place for frames if used correctly, and I feel you site has achieved this.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Gateshead,UK
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Thanks for your prompt response.
    What I'm trying to do is: pre-load the navbar images onto my local drive so that they load faster on subsequent web pages.
    I have tried this using Java Script on one of my sites, and it appears to work.

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •