Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Hi everyone,
    I've decided to stop "lurking" and come out of the shadows. I've been using Painter now for about 21/2 years. I guess I'm what Athena calls a Student, having had no artistic training (and lacking artistic talent as well, I'm afraid!) I've taught myself Photoshop, Illustrator, etc., but now need to begin to "think like an artist", i.e. find a project that inspires me, plan how to create it, then go to work. I guess what I'm trying to say is that I've learned the mechanics of the program, now I need to just start creating. I hope you'll all help me in my desire to be an artist, even if it's not a great one. Thanks for listening. tomm [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif[/img]
    IP

Hi everyone,
    I've decided to stop "lurking" and come out of the shadows. I've been using Painter now for about 21/2 years. I guess I'm what Athena calls a Student, having had no artistic training (and lacking artistic talent as well, I'm afraid!) I've taught myself Photoshop, Illustrator, etc., but now need to begin to "think like an artist", i.e. find a project that inspires me, plan how to create it, then go to work. I guess what I'm trying to say is that I've learned the mechanics of the program, now I need to just start creating. I hope you'll all help me in my desire to be an artist, even if it's not a great one. Thanks for listening. tomm [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif[/img]
    IP

Hi tomm and Welcome,
    That is a tall order, I hope we can help.

Greg.
    IP

Hello Tomm !

Welcome! Welcome! Welcome!

I think I understand what you mean by mentioning that you are self taught in your programs of choice. When a person chooses to teach themselves a subject, they set a project to accomplish with a program and learn through trial and error how to get the project done. (possibly with the help of some valued books . . . aside from the manual [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif[/img]).