Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Hi, I almost purchased xaraX, but I read some of the posts. Maybe, I should wait for version 2?

Anyway, I'm confused as to when I should use a vector graphic program versus when I should use my favorite editor, PSP 7.02

What are the file type differences? What does one do that the other can not?

Thanks for the education!

Greg [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif[/img] [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_confused.gif[/img]
    IP

Hi, I almost purchased xaraX, but I read some of the posts. Maybe, I should wait for version 2?

Anyway, I'm confused as to when I should use a vector graphic program versus when I should use my favorite editor, PSP 7.02

What are the file type differences? What does one do that the other can not?

Thanks for the education!

Greg [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif[/img] [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_confused.gif[/img]
    IP

Wilmington, NC USA and Daejeon, South Korea

Greg, I am new to XaraX myself...so am probably not the one to ask, however, I am amazed by the ease in which you can create spectacular effects in XaraX.

The one great thing about vector graphics is that they can be resized easily without loss of detail. I don't think there is any rule of thumb as to when to use a vector ....it is a matter of preference.

You can output in jpg or gif formats...so that's not a problem either.

I suggest you download the trial version of XaraX, if you haven't already, and play with it. Gary Priester has some great tutorials to help you learn. If you buy XaraX, it comes with videos that ease the learning curve...and I can honestly say, that you will quickly come to love it! I have!

You might also want to post this question on the XaraX forum....I am sure you will get much better answers.

Gary's Tutorials

SandDancr Studios

The sandcastles of our lives are nothing when compared to the tides of our destinies.
    Joelle

The sandcastles of our lives are nothing when compared to the tides of our destinies.