Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Thread: Design a Wall

I want to build a 'design a wall' tool for my web site. The mockup below shows, on the left, a wall in sections. The middle and right panels would allow the user to choose a colour and then apply it to a section of wall. So, you might have a blue ceiling, white coving, orange frieze, purple wall, and a sick coloured dado. Ideally I want the user to be able to adjust the RGB values, but first things first...

My 'best' idea was to set the background color of each section in a table cell. BUT Netscape 4 does not support it.

Does anyone have a better idea? My technology preferences are JavaScript/DHTML, and then Flash or Java a long way down the scale as I have no experience/tools for either.

Very many thanks...

www.thelondonhouse.co.uk
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	grab.gif 
Views:	251 
Size:	7.6 KB 
ID:	19181  
    Simon
    ------------------------------
    www.tlaconsultancy.co.uk
    www.bricksandbrass.co.uk
    IP

I want to build a 'design a wall' tool for my web site. The mockup below shows, on the left, a wall in sections. The middle and right panels would allow the user to choose a colour and then apply it to a section of wall. So, you might have a blue ceiling, white coving, orange frieze, purple wall, and a sick coloured dado. Ideally I want the user to be able to adjust the RGB values, but first things first...

My 'best' idea was to set the background color of each section in a table cell. BUT Netscape 4 does not support it.

Does anyone have a better idea? My technology preferences are JavaScript/DHTML, and then Flash or Java a long way down the scale as I have no experience/tools for either.

Very many thanks...

www.thelondonhouse.co.uk
    Simon
    www.tlaconsultancy.co.uk
    www.bricksandbrass.co.uk
    IP

Hi Simon ...