Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    15

    Default

    I checked thru the FAQ's until I found what I thought would get me out of trouble. I copied the example given into the URL for a button. Now when clicked, it tries to open a local file. here's the example given: javascript:var g=window.open('http:\\www.xara.com',null,height='2 00,width=400,status=yes,toolbar=no,menubar=no,loca tion=no') Here's the link that it calls: file///c:/my_harddrive/javascript:var g=window.open('http:\\www.xara.com',null,height='2 00,width=400,status=yes,toolbar=no,menubar=no,loca tion=no')

    Why is this happening?? Any help appreciated.
    Ian

  2. #2

    Default

    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by videoedge:
    I checked thru the FAQ's until I found what I thought would get me out of trouble. I copied the example given into the URL for a button. Now when clicked, it tries to open a local file. here's the example given: _javascript:var g=window.open('http:\\www.xara.com',null,height='2 00,width=400,status=yes,toolbar=no,menubar=no,loca tion=no')_ Here's the link that it calls: _file///c:/my_harddrive/javascript:var g=window.open('http:\\www.xara.com',null,height='2 00,width=400,status=yes,toolbar=no,menubar=no,loca tion=no')_

    Why is this happening?? Any help appreciated.
    Ian<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    Can you provide a url address where the problem can be viewed?

  3. #3

    Default

    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Xara Support:
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by videoedge:
    I checked thru the FAQ's until I found what I thought would get me out of trouble. I copied the example given into the URL for a button. Now when clicked, it tries to open a local file. here's the example given: _javascript:var g=window.open('http:\\www.xara.com',null,height='2 00,width=400,status=yes,toolbar=no,menubar=no,loca tion=no')_ Here's the link that it calls: _file///c:/my_harddrive/javascript:var g=window.open('http:\\www.xara.com',null,height='2 00,width=400,status=yes,toolbar=no,menubar=no,loca tion=no')_

    Why is this happening?? Any help appreciated.
    Ian<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    Can you provide a url address where the problem can be viewed?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    The problem is that the graphics of the navbar are saved within a seperate location in comparison to where the web page is saved. In order to fix the problem a very small ammendment would need to be made to the JS file bearing the same name as the set of graphics exported. If you can post the url we can assist you

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    15

    Default

    hello Xara Support,
    You are correct in that I am using the .js file from a different folder than the actual menu .html page. Here is a link to the page:
    Click here The try the "Virtual Tour" link in the menu.

    Thanks
    Ian

  5. #5

    Default

    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by videoedge:
    hello Xara Support,
    You are correct in that I am using the .js file from a different folder than the actual menu .html page. Here is a link to the page:
    http://burgerdesign.com.au/the_glen/index.html The try the "Virtual Tour" link in the menu.

    Thanks
    Ian<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    Hi please select to edit the javascript file named menu1.js

    Scroll down to the function startmainmenu

    you will see the entry

    mainMenuItem("menu1_b5",".gif",30,107,loc+"javascr ipt:var g=window.open('http://www.xara.com',null,height='200,width=400,status=ye s,toolbar=no,menubar=no,location=no')","","Virtual Tours",2,2,"menu1_plain");

    This needs to be altered to

    mainMenuItem("menu1_b5",".gif",30,107,"javascript: var g=window.open('http://www.xara.com',null,height='200,width=400,status=ye s,toolbar=no,menubar=no,location=no')","","Virtual Tours",2,2,"menu1_plain");

    (the loc variable has been removed)

    save the file and replace the existing menu1.js file.

    This will resolve the problem.

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Thank-you, thank-you, thank-you. Works a treat now.

    Kind regards
    Ian

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Another problem, if you try the link again, you'll see it opens the popup OK, but the actual window size is incorrect. It is ignoring the height of 200 and opening the window at the max the PC can handle and not 200 pixels as the script suggests.

    Any ideas??
    Thanks
    Ian

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Dinner worry. I figured this out myself. Seems a simple colon was out of place. I suppose this is a bit of a heads up for the webmaster of the Xara FAQs. The hyphen that appears before the figure 200 needs to be moved too before the word height: ('http://www.xara.com',null,'height=200,width=400,status=ye s,toolbar=no,menubar=no,location=no')

    Thanks again.
    Ian

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Ooops, its actually a hyphen not a colon.

    Cheers
    Ian

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Rockford, IL USA
    Posts
    8

    Default

    thank you for the tip.. was driving me nuts figuring out what I was doing wrong. http://www.talkgraphics.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

    --Tone

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •