Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New here

Hybrid View

Hello all! I just found this Painter bb due to Jinny Brown's post on the Painter mailing list. After looking through some of the topics and tutorials here, all I can say is WOW! There sure some talented folks here! I may be a bit out of place here, since I'm not much of an artist, but am a big fan of Painter and have been using it since version 4.

I am an avid amateur digital photographer with my Sony DSC 770 camera and love taking some of my photos and using the cloner brushes in Painter to give them a painted look. Recently, on another bb I frequent there has been some interest in Painter Classic since it is bundled with the Wacom Graphire tablet which many members there own. I have been trying to encourage them with a few tips and tricks I've learned with PC, in hopes that some may move on to the full version of Painter.

Anyway, here is a sample, if I can figure out how to post an image here, of what I've done recently with Painer Classic.

http://w3.cablespeed.com/~jimt/files/oil-rose.jpg
    IP

Jim,

Thanks for the explanation. It was the surface texture that had me wondering.. and I didn't even think of it! DUH!! [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif[/img]

Jinny Brown
    http://www.pixelalley.com
    Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime. Chinese Proverb
    IP

I just followed Jim in here. I, too, am a member of the PIRC Bulletin Board and just getting acquainted with my new Wacom Tablet.

As soon as I can figure out how to post something here, I shall. I'm here to learn, not show my stuff off, as I'm just a beginner.

Some of my projects are at my website (the latter pages utilize Painter exclusively). http://www.reflectionshawaii.com/pi [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif[/img]
    IP

Hi Jim and Welcome to the group.
    I do like your Roses, they are beautiful and well done. Hope to see lots more of your work.