Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

I'm a beginner with Photoshop so please bear with me. I have some images that I have combined as separate layers in PS6 for the PC. I would like to blur the edges and blend them where it's a smooth transition between images. Everytime I make a selection on the image whose border I want blurred, then click Feather, enter a radius, it rounds off the edges but doesn't blur anything. I was thinking that since they are on different layers, then that was causing the 2 layers not to blend together. So I flattened the image and still had the same results. Is there something I'm missing? In my next email, I will attach the pictures.
    IP

Here are the attachments.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	econnect2_newsgroup_posting.jpg 
Views:	511 
Size:	56.1 KB 
ID:	48  
    IP

How about this?

Name:	cvaughn2xA.jpg 
Views:	486 
Size:	14.8 KB 
ID:	8952  
    IP

Maybe I'm not sure if erasing or feathering is the right option. Is there any way for Photoshop to "blend" the difference between the background and the edge of the photos where it's a seamless transition?

By the way, how did you erase the border and give it that blurred look?
    IP

cvaughn2x, the feather command doesn´t soften the picture, only the selection. You can see the effect when you do something to the selected area _after_ the feather command. For example, you can make a picture (like the "erased" picture above) this way:
    Select the picture layer and draw a rectangular area (a little bit smaller than the picture itself) with the marquee tool. Then choose Select --> Inverse, and Select --> Feather (for example 5 pixels). Then clear the selected area, Edit --> Clear. Finally Select --> Deselect.
    IP

cvaughn2x