Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 35
  1. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Out behind the henweigh...
    Posts
    5,115

    Default

    "Which is better opera or firefox?" - J.R. Jackson

    That is easy whichever one is free and works on the most websites, but does not open you up for loads of spam/viruses and asociated poo-poo.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Firefox drop down menu problem

    yep

    im having the same problem

    my webpage - www.monkseatoncomputers.co.uk

    Any ideas, im going to have a go all day at fixing it, It works perfectly fine in IE, but not in mozilla/firefox


    Thanks folks

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    2

    Lightbulb Re: Firefox drop down menu problem

    So - my menu works just fine on its own! on its own!

    but doesnt work on my website ...

    The only difference between them is, on the website, i have dropped the menubar onto a layer, so that it matches up nicely with the image behind.

    This is the code i have used!

    HTML Code:
    <style type="text/css">
    <!--
    #hnavigation {	position: absolute;
    	height: auto;
    	left: 12;
    	top: 93;
    	z-index: 5;
    	background-color: #70a326;/*themecolour1;*/
    }
    -->
    </style>
    <table width="100%" height="78" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" id="table1">
    	<tr>
    	  <td width="300" height="78"><div align="center"> <table width="300" height="78" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">   <tr>    <td height="78" valign="top"><object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000"       codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,0,0"       width="300" height="78">
            <param name="movie" value="./images/flash/title.swf" />
            <param name="quality" value="high" />
            <param name="LOOP" value="true" />
            <param name="menu" value="false" />
            <embed src="./images/flash/title.swf"      width="300" height="78"      loop="false" quality="high"      pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer"      type="application/x-shockwave-flash" menu="false"> </embed>
          </object></td>   
    	  </tr> </table>
    	      </div></td>
    		<td width="100%" height="78">
    		<img border="0" src="right.jpg" width="100%" height="78" align="right"></td>
    	</tr>
    </table>
    <div id="hnavigation">
      <script src="xaramenu.js"></script><script Webstyle4 src="elements_page1_hnavbar.js"></script>
    </div>
    <div>
    <img src="menubar.jpg" width="100%" height="27" /> 
    </div>

    If anyone can tell me the best way to go about this, I would be most appreciated! Thanks alot guys

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    2

    Smile Re: Firefox drop down menu problem

    O.k. I just now found and registered at this forum and this must be an omen. To begin, my web site is developed using WS4 and I just purchased Xara's Menu Maker earlier this evening. A snap to get up and running but one problem, I'm using the latest version 1.7 of Mozilla Firefox browser. The menu buttons I chose to use from Xara's templates are ClearLake 7 (page 7) sort of like a garden look color. I won't bore all with the details but suffice it to say, I also am having problems with my submenu items when viewing with Mozilla Firefox. All works fine using IE but no way I'm going to switch. Problem is that many are switching over to Firefox given the plethora of Bugs in IE. And, according to the hits on my web site, majority are using Firefox as opposed to IE. So, indeed this presents a problem. As I have not yet experimented with the other menu button selections provide by Xara's Menu Maker, it's somewhat indeterminate as to whether this problem lays solely with Xara's Menu Maker template, the Firefox browser or both. As a programmer, I have it through reliable source that Firefox does change some things inherently done in IE that may adversely affect viewing some websites. So, maybe this has something to do with all of this. I will post to Mozilla Firefox forum to see what I can find out as well as submit an email to or call Xara regarding same. Hopefully, together we can resolve this matter once and for all instead of having others pass the buck.
    Last edited by Gomfp49; 11 November 2005 at 11:48 AM.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Firefox drop down menu problem

    O.k., hopefully many of you will read this as there appears to be a lot of wrongful blame directed toward the Firefox Browser with regard to Menu Maker display problems. What I recently found out but was unaware of, for those of you like myself who may use Web Studio 4, their latest service pack added Browser Centering. In doing so, this apparently adversely affects menu items (created in Menu Maker) from being properly displayed when viewed in Mozilla Firefox. While this behavior does not occur in IE I don't know, but it still does not appear to have anything to do with Firefox. From what I have learned thus far, the real problem lays with Xara's Menu Maker in that it does not lend itself to Web Studio Browser Centering. In fact, once I turned this feature off inside Web Studio, my submenu items display and function as expected in both IE and Firefox. While I am only familiar with Web Studio (as this is what I used to build my own web site), if you are using another product to build your site, you just may want to verify if they also implement Browser Centering. Hope this bit of information can at least help someone else resolve their menu maker display issues, and save some time and aggravation in the process.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Firefox drop down menu problem

    Although this post goes back to 2005 I'm experiencing a similar problem... but not on all computers. I have to be very quick with the mouse and sometimes need to have several attempts at "catching" the sub menu... particularly if it branches out into a second sub menu.

    I use both Firefox and IE to test my pages. They seem to work fine at home where I put the pages together, but other people are finding it somewhat frustrating.

    Has anyone got a fix to this?

    Thanks in advance.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Firefox drop down menu problem

    It seems to work if you place the code in Beginning of Body, set the vertical position manually and center it on the page with <center> tags - as long as you wanted it to be centered, of course.


    Code:
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------

    <div id="xmenu" style="position:absolute; top:228px; left:0px; width:100%; height:74px; z-index:999;">
    <center>
    <script src="xaramenu.js"></script><script menumaker src="berkeley.js"></script>
    </center>
    </div>

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I don't take credit for this solution, it was given to me by a friend, but it does work for me.
    Last edited by sunni; 12 July 2007 at 11:38 PM.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Firefox drop down menu problem

    Quote Originally Posted by jrjackson View Post
    Which is better opera or firefox?

    J.R. Jackson
    JR Jackson
    I did not get a repsonse. Is this board still active?
    Last edited by Soquili; 12 January 2008 at 03:08 PM.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Red Boiling Springs TN USA
    Posts
    19,208

    Default Re: Firefox drop down menu problem

    The forum is active however there are few users of Menu Maker that participate.

    As to which is better between Opera and Firefox, that is subjective according to individual taste.

    Many TG members like Firefox, at least from their mentioning of the browser in some posts. I have not seen many posts about people using Opera, but there are some post of that nature.

    I personally prefer IE, but I'm odd that way
    Soquili
    a.k.a. Bill Taylor
    Bill is no longer with us. He died on 10 Dec 2012. We remember him always.
    My TG Album
    Last XaReg update

  10. #30

    Default Re: Firefox drop down menu problem

    Quote Originally Posted by jrjackson View Post
    I did not get a repsonse. Is this board still active?
    Ah but you did, the very next day (which was about 4˝hrs after your post infact) the very next post responded to your question?
    Did you not regularly check? Or perhaps you did not select 'Instant Email Notification' when subscribing to this thread?

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •