Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Default Xara: Improvements????

Before I start here let me say that i am new to xara although an old hat at corel and i have to say what i have seen of it definitely impresses me...especially the real time generation....but this my first post on this forum is mainly pertaining to ways in which i believe a basically already solid vector app could be further streamlined....

so having evaluated xara the following are my thoughts in regard to how i think it could be best improved......(apologies for the long post any ideas and feed back most welcome...)

Xara Extreme IDEAS..... (David Hewitt: hewitt_dj@yahoo.com.au)

As a digitizer of some 10 years experience (In the embroidery field) and with much experience using corel ETC I have some definitly HOT ideas that i believe could greatly improve the core function of Xara ....I.E creating paths and shapes!

Thes are just some of my ideas... the first few being the most important and powerful. Some of the latter ones are just my opinion...But here goes....

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    1) Two button input mode.(option)

As many paths inevitably consist of both corner or curve nodes in combination, having dedicated input "modes" (as is currently the case) to either enter "curved" or "straight" line segments only does not make alot of sense and actually causes the user to have to make otherwise un-necessary additional input steps to switch between modes as required on the fly (usually where-ever a corner is required).

So to facilitate this mixture of node types more efficiently what I am proposing is a new improved node input option in Xara extreme that would allow the user to utilize both mouse buttons whilst in-putting nodes.
    This new input mode would allow the user to place down both curved and staight line segments resectovely with the "shape editor tool" (and also possibly add more fuctionality to the "pen" tool also :more later)