Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Default When Are We Getting A Mesh Paint Tool?

I've been learning Xara for the last 3 or 4 months, I was using Illustrator before and the only thing that I really miss is a Mesh Tool.

It seems strange that Xara has 4 point fills both from transparency and for colour fills but not Mesh because it is the same principle. All that would need to be done is for that part to be expanded for more points to be included. And to have a mesh transparency would really blow my mind!

Looking through the gallery there are lots of people drawing cars and planes which would greatly be made easier with a mesh fill.

What does everyone else think. That includes the developers if anyone is listening from Xara Ltd.

Default Re: When Are We Getting A Mesh Paint Tool?

mesh tool is on the wish list one reference here:
    http://www.talkgraphics.com/showthre...ight=mesh+tool
    a search on the forum should bring up others
    -------------------------------
    Nothing lasts forever...

The last I heard, the mesh tool was demoted in priority (despite the fact that 4 point fills are in there as you say) because its effects are more easily simulated with proper use of feathered objects. Xara have said that when they do get round to it, it will be done properly and will be far more usable than Illustrator's implementation.

I suspect Xara's criteria for determining what features get done for a new release are based around a) getting maximum new effects that can't practically be produced via other means already present, and b) staying ahead of the competition. This means that little usability features that aren't trivial to implement (e.g. nested layers) aren't likely to appear on mass, but new tools that provide new effects will (e.g. the recent multi-page support, and import/export filters etc.).