Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Hi

I had this prepared two days ago and then with the sad and horrific events in the States on Tuesday, I decided to hold back. I hope people won't mind me posting a new thread at this time - I don't want to appear insensitive to the situation and it has hit me very hard I might add.

I have stated several times in messages to this forum that I am NOT a graphic designer and would NEVER be a graphic designer. BUT... I would like to be a great deal nearer to being one than I am at present. I don't THINK I'm being unethical in asking (but if I am then just say so and I'll drop the subject) but can anyone give me a few tips and hints on what to consider when starting a graphic and how do I, without much imagination, think of a particular form of graphic.

There are some things of course which are obvious such as, what the graphic is for, e.g. the web or printing, whether it is to be a logo or have a totally different but specific purpose. How it is to be saved and whether it is to be compressed etc. These considerations seem obvious but there may also be many more things that should be obvious that aren't - not to me anyway.

Also, when it comes to the design process, I find it extremely difficult to think what I would like to see or what would look good. In browsing the web, I see many superb graphics/sites, and I could MAYBE recreate it for my own purposes (very unethical) or possibly create something similar - but even then not with any particular success. However, whenever I try to do something completely original, its always a dismal failure.