Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Okay, I'm a techie novice and I haven't a clue whats up with my compo - am very much hoping that one of you will though!

I can open .pdf files that I already have saved in my computer but ANY .pdf file that I try to download from the web doesn't/won't/refuses to open. All that is showning on the screen is a little square with a red square, green triangle and blue circle.

I never used to have this problem until recently and can't think what I might have done to caused it.

Please, please, help

Mags
    IP

Okay, I'm a techie novice and I haven't a clue whats up with my compo - am very much hoping that one of you will though!

I can open .pdf files that I already have saved in my computer but ANY .pdf file that I try to download from the web doesn't/won't/refuses to open. All that is showning on the screen is a little square with a red square, green triangle and blue circle.

I never used to have this problem until recently and can't think what I might have done to caused it.

Please, please, help

Mags
    IP

Hi Mags,

Is the square with a the red square, green triangle and blue circle showing on the web page or on your hard drive? Did you recently install Windows XP Service Pack 2? If the square icon is on your hard drive, when you click on it does explorer show the number of bytes in the file? If the number of bytes is larger than 0 you can try right clicking on the icon and then selection Open With and then selecting Acrobat Reader. If the number of bytes is 0 and you recently installed XP SP2 then the new security settings may have prevented the file from downloading.
    Soquili
    a.k.a. Bill Taylor
    Bill is no longer with us. He died on 10 Dec 2012. We remember him always.
    My TG Album
    Last XaReg update
    IP

hi Mags,