Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Thread: Licence

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>You are permitted to:
    (1) load or download the Software and use it only on a single client computer which is under your personal control;

(2) transfer the Software from one computer to another provided it is used on only one computer at any one time; <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>While browsing through the help files this morning, I saw the licence terms (copied in part above). I know from having asked Microsoft by telephone and from having email confirmation from Macromedia that I can install Office2003Pro and StudioMX2004 onto both my desktop and my laptop at the same time. (I am a sole trader, so it would be impossible for both to be used at the same time, so that's not an issue really.)

I wouldn't begrudge Xara another $149 (it is, after all, less than 1/4 the price of StudioMX2004 or Office2003Pro (or even one component of each), and I use it far more than either of the others). Should I have bought a second licence? I must own up, I have had the software on both my laptop and my desktop all along http://www.talkgraphics.com/images/smilies/redface.gif

The second part of the quote above, I presume, applies where I buy a new PC - redeploying my old machine for some other task while I install Xara X onto the new one?

Daniel,

From the FAQ:
    Can I install my copy of Xara X onto more than one computer?
    Yes, you can install your copy of Xara X onto as many computers as you want - so long as you are the only user. For example, you could install it on your work PC, and also your home PC. Xara reserves the right to withdraw this facility from anyone it suspects of abusing it.

The licence text is Lawyer-Speak that says the same as the Plain-English in the FAQ!

AlexL

Thanks Alex, and thanks Xara - it is a very brave/generous move, especially with the Product Activation systems that Microsoft and Macromedia are starting to use.