Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A Challenge

Just trying to stimulate things around here, summer is upon us (at least those above the equator)

About 10 years ago my 1st internet connection was with Compu-serve. We had a couple really fun graphic arts forums going one of which was a monthly idea for a subject and everyone was to interpet it in their own way using whatever graphic program they liked.

One of the more fun ones was to use a mythological person or creature and place it in a modern setting.

So this is my challenge for the next 30 days to take the mythological enity place it in a modern day situation and post it

in the general gallery section of Talk graphics

I'm going to repeat this post to the other forums on Talk graphics.

Can't wait to see the results.

Judi

I am a painter, and nearly all my works come from mythological sources. I never liked playing with these archetypes, and setting them in a modern day environment because they lose their force if you do, and become the laughing stock of superficial postmodernism.. Like calling your dog Pluto (from Ploutos, abundance, another name for Hades.)

No, I'm not in.

If you don't work against time, time often works for you.

I too have to agree with Erik's sentiment about watering down the spirit of mythological beings which have been with us for centuries.

Ron

Ron Pfister
    http://www.imaginationmagic.com

What's wrong with you guys? Mythological beings are symbolic and therefore relevant to any time. Was Shakespeare wrong to include mythological subject matter in his plays? Or all the poets who have done so for hundreds of years for that matter? Were the romans wrong to copy the Greeks? How about all the operas? Mythology is a valid source of inspiration. It's use in a present day context could make a powerful statement if done right.

Also, why come on just to dis an idea? If you don't like the idea, just don't participate. It's not necessary to put it down.