Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Question Something like InDesign's Data Merge?

I'm super new to Xara and am just researching the capabilities. I know that there is a trial but my time is limited until school lets out.

I have been using Adobe products for several years but interested in checking out alternatives without a monthly subscription. Overall Xara seems to fit the bill but I do use InDesign to layout books and create playing cards and other components for games. InDesign has a feature that allows me to pull data from a spreadsheet(a .csv file)and use the rows to populate areas that I set on the cards. Here is an example of this in case that sounds confusing to you http://danielsolisblog.blogspot.com/...d-example.html.

So the big question is: Can I do this with Xara instead of InDesign? Thanks Xara Community!

Default Re: Something like InDesign's Data Merge?

Welcome to TG Daniel. No, that's beyond Xara's capabilities
    Egg

Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16 GB Ram + NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1660 Graphics Card + MSI Optix Mag321 Curv monitor
    + Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB SSD + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive + ISP = BT + Web Hosting = TSO Host

just to expand on what egg said - a CSV file holds the data saved from the spreadsheet in delimited table format, and xara does not support tables - so it does not have the capability of placing imported data items into table cells

[and it does not support a CSV file in any other respect]
    -------------------------------
    Nothing lasts forever...