Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default Having Troubling Placing Transparent PNG Logo file in Xara Web Designer Pro

Hello all - Hate to be the one with the 'dumb' question, but here it goes: While I'm fairly experience in web design and production, I'm new to Xara Web Designer Pro and am going nuts trying to figure out how to successfully place a Transparent PNG Logo file that I have previously created in Photoshop. There's nothing wrong with the png file; I've used it in other places before, no worries.

But, for the life of me and after many, many hours of searching online, I cannot understand what the 'magic formula' is to get the 'clear' background to show (or rather, no background to show). I have dragged the logo on top of a flat color area on a web design, and instead of the clear background around the logo, I'm seeing 'white.' I have tried everything - including the 'Transparency Tool' - but it seems to only want to give me gradations of the entire logo image faded into transparency. HELP!! :-) How do I simply get my cleat background png to work? Many thanks in advance. Jeff in Florida

Default Re: Having Troubling Placing Transparent PNG Logo file in Xara Web Designer Pro

Welcome to TalkGraphics Jeff

What version of Web Designer are you using?

Default Re: Having Troubling Placing Transparent PNG Logo file in Xara Web Designer Pro

Jeff, sorry to hear about your problem.
    I have dragged a PNG onto my MouseOff Layer and it has transparency.
    I have inserted by File > Insert... with the same result.

As a one-off try running the Xara application as right-click Run as administrator.

Also click on the Bitmap Properties in the Bitmap gallery; you need to be seeing Colours: 32-bit and Transparent: Alpha channel.

Acorn
    Acorn - installed Xara software: Cloud+/Pro+ and most others back through time (to CC's Artworks). Contact for technical remediation/consultancy for your web designs.