Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Default Homestore Template how many pages does it work best with?

I'm still a newbie with Xara Web Designer Premium 11, but I'm liking it, especially for working with the graphics. I have been a Dreamweaver user. I'm having problems with the Homestore Template loading quickly from the server. This template has a nice visual feature, when one goes to another page, the page appears to rotate to the next page. However, it seems to often get stuck on the home page, when loading the accordion 2, which sittings are unaltered at default, only wording and graphics were changed. If on another page, and one presses to refresh the page, it goes back to reload the home page first, and then often gets stuck on the accordian 2 for sometimes a very long time, before reloading the page one was on. Other times, it loads very quickly. Is there such a thing as to many pages for this template? I have 24 pages currently, and I suppose that can be doubled with the mobile variant. The index.htm file with all these pages, is now a little over 1 mb in size. Could that cause the slow loading?

Default Re: Homestore Template how many pages does it work best with?

Welcome to TalkGraphics

It sounds like Page Transitions which might be slowing the site down. Try the Conventional Site option (Website Properties > Web Export Options > Conventional Website option and if this loads faster then the speed problem is the page transitions. There are many page transitions and some might be faster than others.

I think you will find that the delays are down to all the graphics that are also being downloaded. These are sitting in an index_htm_files folder.
    You're running fast and slow as some images will have already been downloaded and cached locally. check by pressing Ctrl+F5 in your browser to clear this cache.

I would find an index.htm file for 24 pages to be 1 MB to be highly unusual.
    It will not be doubled for a Variant as the images are typically smaller.