Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default help with simple cut and paste?

Hi I am very new to all of this, i have watched the general tutorials and still can't figure how to cut and paste basic from a imported photo? not sure if i am explaing right but, i import a photo and just need the cabinet in the photo, how do i cut it out? any help would be amazing please
    thanks
    teya.

Default Re: help with simple cut and paste?

Welcome to TalkGraphics

I have moved your post to the Xara Graphics Chat forum. I deleted your duplicate post.

I think you are asking how to remove an object from a photo?

If so, you need to create a masking object, such as a rectangle, ellipse, or a more detailed object that covers just the portion of the image you want to isolate.

Then select the photo and the masking object and from the Arrange menu, select Combine Shapes > Intersect Shapes.

Then there's the olde tried and true method with the shape tool:

The video Steve posted is how I do it much of the time.
    Larry a.k.a wizard509

Never give up. You will never fail, but you may find a lot of ways that don't work.

That video is a blast from the past.

Welcome Teya. Perhaps we're over-complicating the issue here (don't really know as I don't understand the "cabinet" reference. Just in case we are over-complicating the issue, here's a simpler way of getting part of an image only.

Egg

Intel i7 - 4790K Quad Core + 16 GB Ram + NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1660 Graphics Card + MSI Optix Mag321 Curv monitor
    + Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB SSD + 232 GB SSD + 250 GB SSD portable drive + ISP = BT + Web Hosting = TSO Host

Well, with your example there Egg, it's even simpler than that. Just double-click the image and drag in the clipping handles until you're left with the crop area you want.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	temp.jpg 
Views:	101 
Size:	54.2 KB 
ID:	107822