Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Using Xara Designer and LibreOffice together

Hi all,

I'm a Maths teacher and for a long time, I used Artworks, aka the ancestor of Xara, on an Acorn Risc PC computer along with Techwriter, a scientific wordprocessor.

Both programs lived happily together and It was such a joy to drag and drop the vector files inside a Techwriter frame for import of schematics... Wanting to edit something in the file, I CTRL-double-clicked on the vector frame inside TW and could edit the file in Artworks, then save and the result would appear in TW's frame. Brilliant !

Now, I no longer use the RISC PC and have a WinPC instead. I can now use many advanced programs on my PC but creating Wordprocessor files with Xara is rather awkward, because as far as I know, LibreOffice doesn't import SVG as true SVG but as raster file ! As a workaround, I save as WMF from Xara then import into LibreOffice (and copy-paste doesn't transfer the vector file but a raster file).

So, does anyone use LibreOffice and Xara in a satisfactorily manner ? If so, I'd love ot hear from you ! I do not want to get rid of LO because the formula editor is so great.

Thank you

Default Re: Using Xara Designer and LibreOffice together

I suppose it depends on the effects used, which will export as a bitmap when using SVG, but the screen shot below is from inside LO that has an XDP exported SVG file. Opening the SVG in InkScape and Illustrator shows that the vector remains.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	capture-002413.png 
Views:	105 
Size:	17.5 KB 
ID:	105178

As well, I chose to export it out as a very small version of the XDP file, then enlarged it significantly, there is no degradation...because it's vector. It hits the exported PDF from LO as vector as well.

I don't use LO for layout work. But like MS Office, I would simply export a PNG at sufficient resolution if there are any effects in XDP that would end up rasterized in the SVG.

Mike