Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Thread: print

Hybrid View

Default print

Hi,

I am a new (swedish) member and recently bought Xaras flagship. I do not have any computer background in graphics. Just dabbled a little in inkskape, make the cut and other less sophisticated programmes. I am actually a watercolour artist and would like to produce my work on either postcards or posters. So far I have not succeeded very well in that area. The original painting is much brighter (probably due to the quality of paper but working on that too) and I don´t get the margins right. The borders are not even on all sides. In all the ´programmes´ I have worked with there is an option called ´print preview´. I consider this a helpful way tool. I have not been able to access this function. I already checked everything (?) in the printer options, printer set up etc but no luck.

So my questions are:
    1. Is there a print preview option I overlooked
    2. How do I get my borders even and set to my liking

I know this is a very small problem compared to the questions the forummembers post on this forum and I feel a little embaressed but like I said.......I am a actual newbee at this.

Appreciate your answers

Greetings from a very rainy Sweden

Default Re: print

if you go to the xara 'window' menu and tick 'show print borders' then everything that is within that frame will be printed [the frame is based on your default printer - if you change your printer or printer settings, the frame may change]

this frame is the xara equivalent of 'print preview'

it is raining on the other side of North Sea too...
    -------------------------------
    Nothing lasts forever...

Sunny on the south coast though.

If you have a single page you can Preview that with Shift-F5; a series of pages with F5. each has a Preview button.
    Xara Help (F1) > Search: Preview.

You can then see with Windows > Show Print Borders (Alt+W+P) how to align your edges.

Good luck,
    Acorn