Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default Want To Try FileZilla To Upload My Website, but, I have some questions?

Hello forum members, as I said, I am now going to try to see if i can get my website uploaded to the web using FileZilla. However, I do have some questions.
    Once I go to Xara Premium 7's file>Save As: I save my file as: New Pathways Consultants. One question is, should I save as: new pathways consultants or some other file name? What specific files should I look for to upload to Filezilla and where should I go to look for these files? Finally, how do I put the files you all suggest into a folder on my desktop? If I can do that I will have all of the files I need in one place. What process do i use to get this done and will that make it easier to upload all the files I need to get my website on the web? Thank you for responding to these questions. As you can see, i am totally new at all of this but Xara has made the process of producing a website easy. It's getting it uploaded to the web that is the difficult part. Thanks all.
    IP

Default Re: Want To Try FileZilla To Upload My Website, but, I have some questions?

Save your Xara file to your computer where you will remember the location.

Create a folder - call it "My Site" or whatever - somewhere on you computer where you will remember the location.

In Xara go to File>>Export website, find your folder in the dialogue box and export there

Using Filezilla upload everything in that folder using the ftp details given to you by your host
    JOHN -XaReg (FB) XaReg (DB - ignore prompt to register)
    Windows 10 [Anniversary] pro Intel Pentium CPU G630 @ 2.70Ghz RAM: 4 GB; 64-bit x64
    IP

Default Re: Want To Try FileZilla To Upload My Website, but, I have some questions?

And upload the index_htm_files folder as well.
    IP

Yeah, that's why I said export website to a folder first then upload everything from that folder