Welcome to TalkGraphics.com

Default trying to publish from Xara Web designer 9 Premium to godaddy.com

First, let me say I'm a complete newbie and must be missing something ridiculously obvious to all of you... I've designed a 6 page website which will live at planetbennu.com, hosted by godaddy.com... I've uploaded everything in my "PlanetBennu0_web_files" folder to their ftp root folder, but it does not seem to be translating.

Any tips?

Default Re: trying to publish from Xara Web designer 9 Premium to godaddy.com

It would be best to use Web Designer's internal FTP facility to publish the site to GoDaddy. There's a GoDaddy FTP help page here:

http://support.godaddy.com/help/arti...ur-website-ftp

Aside from the obvious stuff like usernames and passwords etc, the most important bit is the folder that you publish to. On that page it quotes "Our hosting services do not require a "Home" or "Start" directory, so leave the field blank. If the client requires a value, enter a single forward slash followed by your hosting account user name (i.e., /<user name>)." I'd try just putting the forward slash in the WD Publish dialogue and see how that goes, but maybe another member here who is a GoDaddy user can advise you better.

maybe you are trying to upload to the domain root, check in GoDaddy if there is a subfolder to upload your site.

Right jhorta32 - Most web hosting companies want you to publish to a sub folder on their server. Something like public_html or htdocs, or something like this.

If this is a requirement, enter the sub folder in the box shown in my screen capture.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	subfolder.png 
Views:	799 
Size:	32.3 KB 
ID:	98360  

One variable to consider is whether you have a single site associated with the account, or multiple -- and what level in the file hierarchy is set as the default when the FTP client logs into GoDaddy.