Welcome to TalkGraphics.com
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Xara PGD 9 not able to draw ANYTHING when using on a tablet pc!

Hi everyone,

I've got a strange issue. I've used Xara Xtreme 5, PGD 6, PGD 2013, all on the same tablet pc (a futitsu St5112) with no problems - I've been able to create lines, draw objects, everything, for years, and I use almost nothing else to create my cartoons.

I installed PGD 9 yesterday, and although I can use the menus, I CANNOT create / select anything on the canvas! I've made sure that the layer is editable, and I can drop items onto the canvas from the libraries, but once they're there, I cannot do anything with them - it's as if the canvas is ignoring the pen input.

Anyone had anything similar? I don't want to change drivers, because I don't beleive it's a driver issue (not when the other versions of xara work correctly), so please , no suggestions along those lines.

I'm a PC Enginneer by trade, so I know the PC is quite healthy.

TIA

Shaun (hypervox)

Default Re: Xara PGD 9 not able to draw ANYTHING when using on a tablet pc!

The relevant difference in this context between PGD9 and previous versions is that PGD9 supports the "Windows Touch API".

It's possible that your version of Windows on your device is attempting to implement the Windows Touch API but maybe not completely or maybe not ni a way that PGD9 is expecting.

What version of Windows are you running and do you know whether it supports the "Windows Touch API" completely or partially?

FYI: See similar problem report in the comments to this post http://blog.qt.digia.com/blog/2013/0...-kick-started/

Phil

I'm using windows xp (whch shouldn't support windows touch) - the tablet uses a wacom digitizer, so it should be using just the plain wintab interface. There should be a way in Xara to choose which interface to support, but I can't find it...

No, usually the input interfaces don't interfere with each other so there's no need for any UI to select between them.